February 9, 2016

Governments of Marin
County Government
The County of Marin administers state programs on a regional level for all county residents, provides locally determined regional services such as libraries, flood control, parks, cultural services, open space and airports; and furnishes provides municipal services to those county residents who reside outside city or town limits.
Cities and Towns
There are 11 cities and towns in Marin County. Belvedere, Corte Madera, Fairfax, Larkspur, Mill Valley, Novato, Ross, San Anselmo, San Rafael, Sausalito, and Tiburon provide municipal services to their residents. Not all cities provide all municipal services; some do not provide fire or sanitation service because special districts manage these responsibilities. Each city and town is governed by a five-member city or town council.
Special Districts
Special districts are usually single-purpose units of local government within the county. The most common are school districts. Other district responsibilities include fire protection, sewers, water, and waste water treatment. Special districts are governed by an elected board of directors, usually with five members.
Service Areas
Service areas are jurisdictions governed by a city/town or by the county. They collect taxes or fees to support special services such as landscaping, levee maintenance and paramedic services for specific areas.
Joint Powers Authorities
JPAs are units of local governments working together to administer a shared service. Examples include the Marin Emergency Radio Authority, the Marin Telecommunications Agency, and the Solid Waste JPA.